My Top Romance Novel Recommendations for Beginners

From sweet to smutty, I’ve got you covered

Sondra Rose Marie
6 min readJul 23, 2023
Photo by Raamin ka on Unsplash

Last week I admitted to all of you that, when I need a dose of escapism, I turn to romance novels. I even tried (really hard!) to convince you to try them too and join me in this fun world of spicy sex scenes and happy endings.

Modern romance novels are nothing like the Harlequin paperbacks your (grand)parents read in your youth! If you haven’t given the new generation of romance writers a chance, I’ll walk you through some of my favorites so you can check them out for yourself.

Image from Goodreads.com

Red White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston (LGBTQ+)
The book that started it all! This was my very first romance novel and I loaned it out so much that I lost my first copy and had to buy another. RW&RB is a fun story about what happens when The First Son (whose mom is the first woman to be president of the United States!) and the Prince of Whales fall in love. Amazon Prime secured the movie rights and the film will be available for streaming on August 11.
My Advice: Hurry up and read it now so you’re ready when the film comes out!
Spice Level: 🌶🌶— Despite the fun pink cover, this book…

--

--

Sondra Rose Marie

I write about things people don't bring up in polite conversation: race, death, mental health, and so much more ✨ www.srmcreative.co